About Us

About the Reentry Council

About the Members

Applications for Membership

  • Subcommittee Membership of the Reentry Council is currently open. The Reentry Council is recruiting applicants to the three Reentry Council Subcommittees! Please complete Statement of Interest if interested in serving.


The purpose of the Reentry Council of the City & County of San Francisco is to coordinate local efforts to support adults exiting San Francisco County Jail, San Francisco juvenile justice out-of-home placements, the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation facilities, and the United States Federal Bureau of Prison facilities. The Council shall coordinate information sharing, planning, and engagement among all interested private and public stakeholders to the extent permissible under federal and state law.


The Reentry Council is composed of 23 members. The membership includes 16 representatives of the following entities: the Office of the Mayor, the Public Defender’s Office, the District Attorney’s Office, the Sheriff’s Department, the Adult Probation Department, the Board of Supervisors, Police Department, the Juvenile Probation Department, the Department of Economic and Workforce Development, the Human Services Agency, the Department of Public Health, the Department of Children, Youth, and Their Families, the Department of Child Support Services, the San Francisco Superior Court, the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation Division of Adult Parole Operations, and the United States Probation and Pretrial Services System.

Three Mayoral appointees and four individuals appointed by the Board of Supervisors make up the remaining seven seats on the Council. The appointees must be former inmates of the San Francisco County Jail, a California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation facility, and/or a United States Bureau of Prison facility.

In addition to the 23 council members, dozens of individuals serve on three subcommittees, representing a range of individual and organizational stakeholders. The subcommittees each meet approximately every two months.


From 2005 until 2008, two ad hoc reentry councils focused on different aspects of the reentry of people from prisons and jails have served San Francisco: ­the Safe Communities Reentry Council (SCRC), co-chaired by Supervisor Ross Mirkarimi and Public Defender Jeff Adachi, and the San Francisco Reentry Council (SFRC), co-chaired by District Attorney Kamala D. Harris and Sheriff Michael Hennessey.

In September 2008, these various efforts were unified with the formal creation of the Reentry Council for the City and County of San Francisco. The new Reentry Council was established by Ordinance 215-08, which was signed into law in September 2008, and amended in February 2009 by Ordinance 26-09 and in February 2011 by Ordinance 44-11. The first meeting of the Reentry Council was held on July 17, 2009.

Contact Us

Jennifer Scaife
Director (A), Reentry Division
Adult Probation Department
City and County of San Francisco
880 Bryant Street, Room 200
San Francisco, CA 94103
phone: (415) 553-1593
email reentry.council@sfgov.org